DOO OO VARIETY SCREENING PRESENTED BY SERIES2021 MIRAI

An Exclusive Screening and Q&A With the Actress and Director / Producer of "The United States vs. Billie Holiday"

Thursday, February 25, 2021

8:00 PM - 10:00 PM US Eastern
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM US Central
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM US Mountain
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM US Pacific
1:00 AM - 3:00 AM UTC

About this Event

“The United States vs. Billie Holiday” actress Andra Day and director / producer Lee Daniels join Variety’s Angelique Jackson for an exclusive screening and Q&A as part of the Variety Screening Series presented by the All-New Toyota Mirai.

The legendary Billie Holiday, one of the greatest jazz musicians of all time, spent much of her career being adored by fans across the globe. Beginning in the 1940’s in New York City, the federal government targeted Holiday in a growing effort to escalate and racialize the war on drugs, ultimately aiming to stop her from singing her controversial and heart-wrenching ballad, “Strange Fruit.”

Led by Oscar® nominated director Lee Daniels and introducing Grammy® nominated singer-songwriter Andra Day, The United States vs. Billie Holiday unapologetically presents the icon’s complicated, irrepressible life.

About the Speakers

speaker
Andra Day
speaker
Lee Daniels